Friday Favorite: Luna Protein Bars… Gluten-Free!

When I went to an event in Boston a few weeks back there were was a Luna Bar promotion. As I was walking by the booth, the friendly gals that were working asked me if I would like to try a Luna Bar.

Knowing Luna Bar had been a no-no in the past, due to the ingredient list containing gluten, I disappointingly said I couldn’t because of the gluten.

BUT… much to my delightful surprise the gals came back and told me that Luna has reformulated their PROTEIN  Bars to be gluten-free! (Note: Only the Luna PROTEIN Bars are gluten-free – the regular Luna Bars are not!)

Here is the statement from the Luna Bar website:

At the beginning of 2011 we started to transition all LUNA Protein flavors to be gluten free. To do this, Clif Bar & Company has looked at all aspects of making our bars. Our ingredient suppliers have confirmed that all ingredients are gluten free, so they contain no gluten from wheat, rye or barley. The location where we make our food is capable of making a gluten free food and we test our finished products to confirm that they are gluten free.

Our newest flavors, Mint Chocolate Chip and Chocolate, are all labeled gluten free.

As of March 2011, Chocolate Peanut Butter, Cookie Dough, and Chocolate Cherry Almond transitioned to be gluten free, as well. You can tell if your LUNA Protein bar is gluten free by looking at the packaging.

I tried all of the flavors that they were sampling, and my favorite was the Cookie Dough, followed by the Mint Chocolate Chip. They also have additional flavors of: Chocolate Peanut Butter, Chocolate, and Chocolate Cherry Almond.

Under 200 calories per bar, packed with protein and now gluten-free are all the reasons this week’s Friday Favorite is awarded to Luna Protein Bars! Enjoy!

7 Responses to “Friday Favorite: Luna Protein Bars… Gluten-Free!”

  1. christine york Says:

    We bought all the Chocolate Peanut Butter at Walmart. They are so good

  2. Sue Edwards Says:

    Wow! I can’t wait to try them. My son will love these right before a swim meet!

  3. Spense Says:

    How much sugar is in them? can I really purchase them at walmart? Being a diabetic I’m looking for something to keep on me to have if I have a low blood sugar.

  4. Kathleen Reale Says:

    If you go to the Luna website (link is in the blog posting) they have the nutritional info and the ingredients for each of the Luna Protein varieties.

    Be Free!

  5. Laura Says:

    Make sure you look at the wrapper to confirm the gluten free status. A store near me had 3 flavors for sale and only one was marked gluten free. So, I bought the one that was marked and a friend who was with me (who is not gf) bought one of the others. I was determined to figure out why my friend’s wasn’t marked and sure enough–listed in the ingredients was barley malt extract! My store must have still had some of the old version on the shelves.

  6. Kathleen Reale Says:

    Hey Everyone!

    Laura has an important point! MAKE SURE THE LABELS SAY “GLUTEN-FREE” ON THEM! Otherwise, they could be the “old formulation” and contain barley malt extract!

    Thanks, Laura!

    Be Free!

  7. Debbie Says:

    I used to eat Luna bars before I found out I am gluten-intolerant. I look forward to trying the new gluten-free flavors

Leave a Reply

Be Free For Me Blog is proudly powered by WordPress
Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS).